I love being Mad

October 24, 2008 at 1:41 am (alfred e. neuman, mad, mad magzine, magazine, nintendo, president, usual gang of idiots)


Ever since I was a little kid I have had a fascination with sarcasm and cartoons. I soon found out that I inherited this wry sense of humor from my father who, growing up, like to read a magazine called MAD. This of course made an impression upon me.

One night as we were at the grocery store behind the apartment complex we lived in, I saw a copy of Mad with Mario and Luigi on the cover, smashing a TV. Of course, being a huge Nintendo fan as well, I had to have the issue, and to this day it remains in my collection. It was one of the first new issues that I ever purchased. I now own a few hundred magazines and books from the Usual Gang of Idiots.

Of course, over the years I have lost the same yearning to buy every old copy that I have come upon in second hand stores and flea markets. I have to be an adult now and pay bills and take care of priorities. But it sure is fun to pull these out every once in awhile and think about a simpler time when MAD magazine was one of my top priorities. Alfred E. Neuman has been my friend for much of my life, and will always be so. His care free expression of “What me, Worry?” still makes me smile. He has no worries about elections or getting his job done right. He just floats along with a smile and a wink and every 4 years people call for his election as president.

Alfred, I think you would be a wonderful president. You would keep around radio, print media and all of the “old” stuff that has made this country great for so long. I need to get my hands on a couple of the old Vinyl records that Mad put out over the years. Now that is some quality stuff right there.

So here is my tribute to MAD, the magazine that led to my zany sense of humor, and colorful outlook on life.

Leave a Reply

