Getting Ready for Christmas

October 28, 2008 at 4:52 pm (Uncategorized)


I love Christmas. I want to put up the tree, have some snow, and make some hot chocolate. Delightful!

I like to pull out one of my lifelong favorite movies called Scrooge. It is a musical of the Charles Dickens classic A Christmas Carol.

There is a point as the Ghost of Christmas Present is visiting old Ebenezer, where he breaks into song about the joys of life, I have inserted a bit of it for you to enjoy.

Ghost of Christmas Present:
Ebenezer Scrooge
The sins of man are huge
A never-ending symphony
Of villainy and infamy
Duplicity, deceit, and subterfuge
And no one’s worse than Ebenezer Scrooge
Though man’s a handy candidate for Hell
I must admit life sometimes has it’s brighter side as well

I like life
Life likes me
Life and I fairly fully agree
Life is fine
Life is good
‘Specially mine, which is just as it should be
I like pouring the wine and why not?
Life’s a pleasure that I deny not

I like life
Here and now
Life and I made a mutual vow
‘Till I die
Life and I
We’ll both try to be better somehow
And if life were a woman
She would be my wife

Scrooge
Why?

Ghost of Christmas Present

Why?
Because I like life!

Leave a Reply

