Song of the Day 11/11/2009 Veteran’s Day Edition

November 11, 2009 at 8:56 am (mp3, qotd, Service, Veteran) (, , , , , , , )

50584342

World War I, then normally referred to simply as The Great War, ended with the implementation of an armistice [temporary cessation of hostilities in this case until the final peace treaty, the infamous Treaty of Versailles, was signed in 1919] between the Allies and Germany at the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of November, 1918. (from http://www.history.army.mil/)

Jonathan PughBattle Hymn of the Republic

(Click to Download)

CAHOTD

Donate to the Disabled American Veteran’s Organization

RCOTD

Question of the Day:

How would you like to thank those who have served and given their lives for your freedom?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 Comments

  1. Kel/y_H said,

    By buying them a beer.

    Happy Birthday, Natalie!

  2. Bridget said,

    I don’t know in a greater sense, but I do things on a small scale. I.e.–boxes of goodies for my friend Andrew in Iraq. He gets a monthly supply of sports magazines and other fun things from Andy and me.

  3. amber said,

    Ditto Kelly! And a grape nehi for the n/a’s!

  4. Megan said,

    I do lots of praying. I also try to make an effort every time I see someone in uniform or w/ the veteran hats/bumper stickers etc to say thank you for what they’ve done for us and our freedom. My grandfather served (rest his soul – first V-day w/out him)… but now that Trent’s left, I will be saying more prayers for the families left at home, too. Ditto on the goodie boxes etc. I organized Katie’s school and sent 100 Christmas cards to Afganistan last Christmas. Little things mean a lot, I hear.

Leave a Reply

