Song of the Day 01/15/2010

January 15, 2010 at 7:30 am (america, Free, free song, mp3, music, qotd, song, song of the day, sotd) (, , , , , , , , )

On this day in 1967 – The movie “The Fastest Guitar Alive,” with Roy Orbison and Sheb Wooley, premiered in New York City, NY.

SOTD: Rocky Votolato – Red River

CAHOTD

DOTD

RCOTD

Question of the Day:

What is your favorite cliché?

(bet your bottom dollar, artsy-fartsy, calm before the storm etc.)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
6 Comments

  1. Bridget said,

    My mom has a zillion ridiculous Ozark hills cliches… It’s the hillbilly in us all…

    I like these:
    1. He won’t buy the cow if he can milk it for free (regarding abstinence.. this is weird and kind of gross).
    2. As slow as molasses (this is a favorite of hers).
    3. Like a turtle on quaaludes (I think she just made this one up, but I use it now because it’s hilarious).
    4. Busy hands, peaceful mind (I think this is her reasoning behind constantly working).
    5. As old as Moses (used to describe anyone older than her…ha).

    Those are just a few off the top of my head. She has some that are so ridiculous they dont’ even make sense.

  2. Shannon said,

    I don’t know if this really counts as a cliche, but me and my mom are always saying “it is what it is” when we mean that there’s a bad situation, but you have to just learn to deal with it.

  3. amber said,

    It’s always darkest before the dawn.

  4. Steve said,

    Oh boy! After teaching creative writing for a couple of years, I’ve seen so many cliches in students’ essays that I feel assaulted with bad language. So, here is one of my own personal favorites I like to use on occasion: crazy as a shithouse rat. I don’t know why, but that image always cracks me up.

    • amber said,

      you might enjoy the show Trailer Park Boys.

  5. amber said,

    my grandma used to say her plants were “dry as a chip” when they needed to be watered.

Leave a Reply

